AI Pulse Check
← Back to blog

AI for Law Firms in 2026: Tools, Prices and Ethics Guidance for Small Firms

By Ethan Halfhide · Updated October 5, 2026

AI for law firms is software that drafts, summarizes, researches, handles document review, answers intake calls and prepares bills, with a lawyer checking every output. Small firms get it three ways: inside practice management software, from legal-specific tools, or from a general assistant such as ChatGPT or Claude on a business plan.

This guide is for solo attorneys and small firm owners. It covers how law firms use AI, 14 tools with the prices their makers publish (checked October 5, 2026), what a three-lawyer firm would pay, and what ABA Formal Opinion 512 and two state bars say. It is general information, not legal advice.

AI tools for lawyers compared (as of October 2026)

ToolMain jobPublished price (maker's own page)Free option on that page
MyCase (8am IQ)Practice management with AI writing, document, case and discovery assistantsPro: $100 per user/month billed annually, $120 billed monthly. Advanced: $130 annually, $150 monthly10-day free trial, no credit card
ClioPractice management, AI included on Core and aboveStarter "Starting at $49/user". Core, Signature and Elite prices not shown"Try for free" button, trial length not stated
Smokeball (Archie AI)Practice management, Archie AI assistant as an add-onNot published ("Get pricing")Demo
PaxtonLegal research, drafting and file analysis$499 per user/month, or $2,999 per user/year7-day free trial
CoCounsel Legal (Thomson Reuters)Research, analysis and drafting grounded in Westlaw and Practical LawNo flat price shown. Thomson Reuters says new customers can view online pricing after entering sector, number of attorneys, jurisdiction and plan durationFree demo
Lexis+ with ProtégéDrafting, research and analysis on LexisNexis contentNot published (customized pricing)2-day free trial
SpellbookContract review and drafting in Microsoft WordNot published (custom, per user)7-day free trial
Gavel ExecContract review, redlining and drafting in Word$160 per user/month, or $1,740 per user billed annually25 free queries per user
BriefpointWritten discovery requests and responses$150/month per attorney, billed annually ($1,800/year)Demo
Smith.ai AI ReceptionistCall answering and intakeFree: 25 calls a month. Pro: $150/month for 75 callsFree plan
ChatGPT BusinessGeneral assistant for drafting and summarizing$20 per user/month billed annually, $25 billed monthly, 2 or more usersSeparate free personal plan (see data settings)
Claude TeamGeneral assistant for drafting and summarizing$20 per seat/month billed annually, $25 billed monthly, teams of 2 to 150Separate free personal plan (see data settings)
Microsoft 365 Copilot BusinessAI inside Word, Outlook and Teams$18 per user/month paid yearly. This is a sale price (was $21)One-month free trial, credit card required. Needs a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan
HarveyLegal AI platform. Its site says "The world's top law firms and in-house legal teams trust Harvey"Not publishedDemo

Six of the 14 tools show no flat price list on the pages we read. For five of them (Clio above Starter, Smokeball, Lexis+ with Protégé, Spellbook and Harvey), comparing takes a sales call or a quote request. For CoCounsel Legal, Thomson Reuters says online pricing is available to new customers only, shown after you enter your sector, number of attorneys, jurisdiction and plan duration, with 1-year, 2-year and 3-year plans. We did not complete that form, so no CoCounsel price appears here. Microsoft says its $18 offer runs from July 1 to December 31, 2026, applies to the first year only and requires an annual commitment. The two chat assistants are listed on their business plans on purpose: see the data settings section below.

How law firms use AI

The best public snapshot we found is an American Bar Association Law Practice Magazine article on the 2026 Legal Industry Report from 8am. It says 69% of legal professionals report personally using generative AI tools such as ChatGPT, Gemini or Claude for work, up from 31% in the 2025 report. The most common tasks were drafting correspondence (58%), general research (58%), brainstorming (54%) and summarizing documents (47%). Thirty-eight percent of respondents reported saving 1 to 5 hours a week, and 14% reported saving 6 to 10 hours.

Treat those figures as vendor research: the article is credited to LawPay, carries a Sponsored Content label on the ABA page, and reports a survey by 8am, the company whose name is on MyCase's AI features. The same article says 54% of respondents report that their firm has provided no training on responsible use of generative AI.

Here is where AI shows up in a small firm, job by job.

Drafting and correspondence

General assistants handle first drafts of letters, emails and memos. Practice management vendors build the same thing into the matter file: MyCase lists an 8am IQ Writing Assistant for "translating languages, adjusting tone, and improving clarity", Clio's Core plan lists "Draft client updates automatically from real matter activity", and Smokeball says Archie summarizes email threads in Outlook and drafts responses that pull from the matter.

Legal research

CoCounsel Legal says it reasons from Westlaw content and Practical Law guidance. LexisNexis says the Protégé Legal AI configuration in Lexis+ with Protégé grounds all responses in LexisNexis sources, and that Shepard's Verify checks citations in AI responses, documents and drafts. Paxton lists a knowledge base of US federal regulations, state laws and case law across all 50 states.

Citations still need to be read. A Stanford-led study in the Journal of Empirical Legal Studies found that earlier AI research tools from LexisNexis and Thomson Reuters hallucinated less than a general-purpose chatbot, but it called the providers' claims "overstated". The products have changed since, and we have no newer independent figures.

Document review and summaries

MyCase lists an 8am IQ Document Assistant to "extract and summarize key details" and, on its Advanced plan, a Discovery Assistant that uses AI-powered OCR with 5,000 pages per user each month. Paxton lists AI file analysis plus medical chronologies and billing summaries. Smokeball says Archie can compare documents to catch conflicting terms.

Contracts

Spellbook and Gavel Exec both work inside Microsoft Word. Spellbook's suite covers review, drafting and playbooks, plus an agent called Associate for multi-document work. Gavel Exec says it redlines entire agreements using your playbooks and drafts clauses and contracts.

Discovery

Briefpoint drafts written discovery requests and responses with objections, and says it covers all 50 states and 98 federal district courts.

Intake and phones

Smith.ai lists a native Clio integration and says calls can be transferred to a live North America-based receptionist when something complex comes up. Clio Grow, which Clio describes as capturing leads and booking consultations with AI, is included in its Elite plans and is an add-on for Core and Signature. Our comparison of each AI phone answering service covers seven options and their call pricing.

If a chatbot or AI agent talks to clients for you, check your state's advertising rules. The Florida Bar's Ethics Opinion 24-1 says generative AI chatbots that communicate with clients or third parties "must include a disclaimer indicating that the chatbot is an AI program and not a lawyer or employee of the law firm".

Billing and time

Clio's Core plan lists "Set billing parameters once and let AI draft accurate bills on schedule". Smokeball lists AutoTime as an add-on on its Grow plan and as included in Prosper+, where its comparison table shows time tracking as automatic.

Meeting and call notes

We compare recorders that transcribe and summarize meetings in our guides to the best AI meeting assistant and to AI meeting notes apps. For a law firm, a recording of a client call holds client information, so the confidentiality guidance below is worth reading before choosing a recorder.

What it costs a three-lawyer firm

These are our own sums from the list prices above, as of October 2026, before tax.

SetupCost for 3 usersHow we got there
General assistant on a business plan (ChatGPT Business or Claude Team)$75 a month billed monthly, or $60 a month on annual billing3 x $25, or 3 x $20
MyCase Pro (practice management plus AI writing and document assistants)$360 a month billed monthly, or $300 a month on annual billing3 x $120, or 3 x $100
MyCase Advanced (adds the Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant)$450 a month billed monthly, or $390 a month on annual billing3 x $150, or 3 x $130
Briefpoint$450 a month, billed annually as $5,4003 x $150, or 3 x $1,800
Gavel Exec$480 a month billed monthly, or $5,220 a year3 x $160, or 3 x $1,740
Paxton Individual plans$1,497 a month billed monthly, or $8,997 a year3 x $499, or 3 x $2,999

A solo lawyer should note that ChatGPT Business is listed for 2 or more users and Claude Team for teams of 2 to 150. Expect to pay for two seats: $50 a month on monthly billing, or $40 a month billed annually.

What ABA Formal Opinion 512 says

The ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility issued Formal Opinion 512, "Generative Artificial Intelligence Tools", on July 29, 2024. It was the ABA's first formal opinion on generative AI, which it shortens to GAI. Its summary reads:

"To ensure clients are protected, lawyers using generative artificial intelligence tools must fully consider their applicable ethical obligations, including their duties to provide competent legal representation, to protect client information, to communicate with clients, to supervise their employees and agents, to advance only meritorious claims and contentions, to ensure candor toward the tribunal, and to charge reasonable fees."

The points that matter most for a small firm:

  • Competence (Model Rule 1.1). "To competently use a GAI tool in a client representation, lawyers need not become GAI experts. Rather, lawyers must have a reasonable understanding of the capabilities and limitations of the specific GAI technology that the lawyer might use."
  • Checking the output. The opinion warns that "lawyers' uncritical reliance on content created by a GAI tool can result in inaccurate legal advice to clients or misleading representations to courts and third parties." It adds that "the lawyer is fully responsible for the work on behalf of the client."
  • Confidentiality (Model Rule 1.6). For self-learning tools, the opinion says "a client's informed consent is required prior to inputting information relating to the representation into such a GAI tool." It also says that "merely adding general, boiler-plate provisions to engagement letters purporting to authorize the lawyer to use GAI is not sufficient."
  • Read the terms. "As a baseline, all lawyers should read and understand the Terms of Use, privacy policy, and related contractual terms and policies of any GAI tool they use", or consult someone who has.
  • Telling clients (Model Rule 1.4). The opinion says the facts of each case determine whether a lawyer must disclose AI use. It adds that "lawyers must disclose their GAI practices if asked by a client how they conducted their work".
  • Courts. Duties to the tribunal require lawyers, before submitting materials to a court, "to review these outputs, including analysis and citations to authority, and to correct errors".
  • Supervision (Model Rules 5.1 and 5.3). "Managerial lawyers must establish clear policies regarding the law firm's permissible use of GAI". Supervisory duties include training lawyers and staff.
  • Fees (Model Rule 1.5). The opinion says "lawyers who bill clients an hourly rate for time spent on a matter must bill for their actual time." On flat fees, if a GAI tool lets a lawyer finish much faster, "it may be unreasonable under Rule 1.5 for the lawyer to charge the same flat fee when using the GAI tool as when not using it." And "a lawyer may not charge a client to learn about how to use a GAI tool or service that the lawyer will regularly use for clients".

State guidance: California and Florida

The ABA opinion interprets the ABA Model Rules. States publish guidance under their own rules, and the ABA's announcement says state and local bar ethics committees will likely keep offering updates. Two examples:

  • California. The State Bar's 2026 Practical Guidance, which replaces its 2023 version and adds agentic AI, says "a lawyer must not input any confidential information of the client into a generative AI solution that may present material risks to confidentiality or security, absent informed client consent". It also says reasonable efforts to protect client confidences "require more than reliance on generalized marketing assurances." It says subscription fees for generative AI tools that provide general office functionality typically count as overhead, to be absorbed within the lawyer's fee. On agents, it says lawyers "must not permit AI systems to autonomously file documents, communicate with the court, or make representations on the lawyer's behalf."
  • Florida. Ethics Opinion 24-1 (January 19, 2024) says lawyers may use generative AI but must protect confidentiality "by researching the program's policies on data retention, data sharing, and self-learning". The opinion notes that advisory ethics opinions are not binding.

What happens when nobody checks

In Mata v. Avianca (S.D.N.Y., June 22, 2023), Judge Castel sanctioned two lawyers and their firm after they submitted, in the court's words, "non-existent judicial opinions with fake quotes and citations created by the artificial intelligence tool ChatGPT". The penalty was $5,000. The order says "there is nothing inherently improper about using a reliable artificial intelligence tool for assistance", and that existing rules "impose a gatekeeping role on attorneys to ensure the accuracy of their filings."

Data settings: personal plans versus business plans

The same chat assistant can have different data defaults depending on the plan.

  • Claude. Anthropic's pricing page lists model training as "Opt-out" on its Free, Pro and Max plans, and says of the Team plan: "No model training on your content by default".
  • ChatGPT. OpenAI's pricing page says of individual plans that content is used to train its models, with an opt-out available. Its business pricing page says of ChatGPT Business: "No training on your business data by default".
  • Legal vendors. Spellbook says it uses Zero Data Retention agreements that prevent data use for training. Smokeball says Archie runs under zero-data-retention agreements and that data is never shared with third parties for training. LexisNexis says "We never use customer data to train AI models". Gavel Exec lists Zero Data Retention commitments with its AI providers.

These are vendor statements, and California's guidance says marketing assurances alone are not enough. Read the terms. Our ChatGPT vs Claude comparison sets out both companies' data rules by plan, and our guide to ChatGPT for small business covers which plan to pick.

How to choose

  1. Start with one job. Pick the task that eats the most unbilled time, such as intake calls, first drafts or discovery responses, and buy for that.
  2. Check what you already pay for. If you run MyCase, Clio or Smokeball, look at which AI features your plan already includes before adding another subscription. If the firm lives in Word and Outlook, Microsoft 365 Copilot Business is an add-on to a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan.
  3. Compare business plans before any client information goes in. The vendors' pages show different training defaults on business plans than on personal ones. A plan default is not a confidentiality sign-off: the ABA opinion treats reading the terms of use and privacy policy as the baseline, and your state's rules apply on top.
  4. Plan for citation checking. The ABA opinion says lawyers must review AI output, including citations to authority, before submitting materials to a court. The Stanford study found fewer hallucinations in research tools built on a legal database than in a general chatbot, not none.
  5. Write a short policy and train everyone. The ABA opinion says managerial lawyers must establish clear policies on the firm's permissible use of GAI and that supervisory duties include training. Its own section headings give a list of topics to cover: competence, confidentiality, communication with clients, candor toward courts, supervision and fees.
  6. Use the free trial on non-confidential material. Old public filings or a made-up fact pattern will show you how a tool behaves without putting client information into it.

Where most small firms should start: the AI already inside your practice management software, plus one general assistant on a business plan at $20 to $25 per user a month as of October 2026. Add a research tool if you litigate, or a contract tool if you do deals, once the first one is saving time.

Where this fits with your other AI tools

Legal-specific tools sit on top of the same basics every small business needs. For the general stack, see our list of the best AI tools for small business. If most of your drafting is marketing copy, newsletters or website content instead of legal documents, compare the best AI writing tools.

What we could not verify

  • Prices for six tools. Clio (above Starter), Smokeball, Lexis+ with Protégé, Spellbook and Harvey do not publish full price lists on the pages we read. CoCounsel Legal prices sit behind an online form that asks for firm details, which we did not complete.
  • Clio's billing terms. We could not confirm whether "Starting at $49/user" is the monthly or annual rate, or how long the free trial runs.
  • Accuracy. We have not run any of these tools. The one independent study we cite covers earlier versions of two research products.
  • The survey's method. The ABA article does not state the sample size for the 8am report.
  • The ABA's own file. We could not open Formal Opinion 512 on americanbar.org. The quotes come from a copy of the ABA PDF hosted at lawnext.com, listed under Sources.
  • Your state. We read the ABA opinion and guidance from California and Florida only. Other states and individual courts may have their own rules.

FAQ

What is the best AI for law firms to use?

There is no single best tool, because the jobs differ. For drafting and summarizing, a general assistant on a business plan costs $20 to $25 per user a month as of October 2026. For research, look at legal research tools that draw on a library of legal sources, such as CoCounsel Legal, Lexis+ with Protégé or Paxton. For contracts, Spellbook and Gavel Exec work inside Word. For intake calls, consider an AI receptionist such as Smith.ai.

How are law firms using AI?

According to a sponsored article in ABA Law Practice Magazine on 8am's 2026 Legal Industry Report, the most common uses are drafting correspondence (58%), general research (58%), brainstorming (54%) and summarizing documents (47%). Firms also use AI for contract review, discovery responses, intake calls and preparing bills.

Is there free AI for lawyers?

Yes, with limits. Claude and ChatGPT both have free plans, but their makers' pricing pages show model training on individual plans as something you have to opt out of, so check that setting before any client information goes in. Smith.ai has a free AI receptionist plan with 25 calls a month. Paxton and Spellbook offer 7-day free trials, Lexis+ with Protégé a 2-day trial, and Gavel Exec 25 free queries per user.

Can lawyers use ChatGPT for client work?

ABA Formal Opinion 512 offers general guidance and does not rule on individual products. It says lawyers must have a reasonable understanding of a tool's capabilities and limitations, protect client information and review the output, and that self-learning tools need informed client consent before information relating to the representation goes in. The plan's data terms and your state's rules decide the rest. This is general information, not legal advice.

How much does Harvey AI cost?

Harvey does not publish prices. Its website says the world's top law firms and in-house legal teams trust it, and the call to action is to request a demo. A small firm that wants a published price can compare Paxton at $499 per user a month or Gavel Exec at $160 per user a month, as of October 2026.

Do I have to tell clients I use AI?

Formal Opinion 512 says it depends on the facts of each case, and your state's rules may differ. The opinion says lawyers must disclose their AI practices if a client asks how the work was done. It also says informed consent is required before entering client information into self-learning tools, and that boilerplate in an engagement letter is not enough for that consent.

How this page was put together

We read each vendor's own pricing and product pages on October 5, 2026, along with the ethics opinions, court order, study and ABA article listed under Sources. The ABA website did not serve the Formal Opinion 512 PDF to us that day, so every quote from the opinion comes from the copy of the 15-page ABA PDF hosted at lawnext.com, checked against the opinion number, date and page count in the ABA's own news release. We did not run these products. Tool mentions rest on published prices and each vendor's own description. Prices change often, so check each pricing page before you buy. Nothing here is legal advice.

Sources