AI Accounting Software for Small Business: 7 Options Compared (2026)
By Ethan Halfhide · Updated October 12, 2026
Top pick: XeroProduct images: Top pick: Xero
AI accounting software is bookkeeping software that sorts bank transactions, matches receipts and bills, drafts invoices and answers questions about your numbers, while you check the result. For most small businesses the practical starting point is the AI already built into QuickBooks Online, Xero or Zoho Books. AI-first ledgers and bookkeeping services cost more.
This guide is for owners who keep their own books or pay someone to. It compares seven options on what each maker says its AI does and what it charges, using pages we read on October 12, 2026. It also answers the question many owners and bookkeepers ask next: will AI take over accounting? It is general information, not tax or accounting advice.
AI accounting software compared (as of October 2026)
| Option | What kind of product | What the AI does, per the maker | Regular US price (maker's own page) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero (JAX) | Accounting software | JAX chat answers questions about your financials, can bring in public web information for questions such as benchmarking, and can create invoices from a quote | Early $27/month, Growing $59, Established $97. JAX chat at no additional charge "currently" |
| QuickBooks Online (Intuit Intelligence) | Accounting software | AI chat, plus AI features by plan for accounting, payments, tax, customers, projects and finance. Several are marked BETA | Simple Start $38/month, Essentials $85, Plus $140, Advanced $340. Free plan $0 with no AI features listed |
| Zoho Books (Zia) | Accounting software | Ask Zia chat, anomaly detection, AI forecasts, an invoicing agent and bank statement categorization | Free plan (revenue up to $50K a year). Standard $20/month, or $15/month billed annually |
| Digits | AI-native general ledger | "24/7 AI Bookkeeping & Reconciliation", an AI month-end close and an AI assistant called Ask Digits | Listed per plan on Digits' pricing page; billing terms not stated, see the Digits section and "What we could not verify" |
| Booke AI | AI add-on for QuickBooks Online or Xero | Categorizes bank feed transactions daily, matches documents and requests missing ones, then hands you the exceptions | Listed per business on Booke's pricing page, on top of your accounting software; billing term unclear, see the Booke AI section |
| Pilot | Bookkeeping service | On Essentials, "AI categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly". Core adds a US-based bookkeeper | Essentials $99/month for up to $100,000 in monthly expenses. Core price not shown clearly |
| Zeni | AI bookkeeping plus a finance team | AI bookkeeping, bill pay and reimbursements, with a dedicated finance team on every plan | Starter from $549/month, or $494/month billed annually. Growth from $799, or $719 billed annually |
Prices are list prices before tax. Xero, QuickBooks and FreshBooks were all running new-customer discounts on the day we checked, so your first months may cost less. See each section below for the terms we could read.
Our pick for most small businesses: Xero
If you are choosing new accounting software and want AI included, Xero is the simplest place to start on published facts. Its JAX page says JAX chat "is available to all Xero subscribers and users" and that there is "currently no additional charge" for it. Its plans start at $27 a month, which is lower than QuickBooks Simple Start at $38. Xero also states how JAX handles your data (see the data section below).
If you already run QuickBooks Online, do not switch just for AI: Intuit Intelligence is listed on every paid plan, and the features differ by tier. If you want someone else to do the books, skip to the services section.
The options, one by one
Xero with JAX
Who it's for: small businesses picking accounting software for the first time, or switching, that want an AI assistant inside the ledger without paying extra for it.
What the AI does. Xero's JAX page says you can ask about your financials and get "quick access to your financial data with intuitive visualisations through charts and tables", with example questions such as "What was my total income in the last six months?" It says JAX uses your Xero data and "real-time public information from across the web" for questions like benchmarking or cash flow ideas, and that it can help with admin such as creating an invoice based on the last quote for a contact. Xero says JAX "only does something when you open it and ask it a question" and that users can only see data their Xero permissions already allow.
Plans and price (as of October 2026). Early is $27 a month and includes 20 invoices and 5 bills. Growing is $59 and Established is $97. Every plan lists Smart Document Capture and bank reconciliation. Auto-reconcile is included on Growing and Established and is a $5 a month add-on on Early. Xero was offering new US customers 80% off for the first 3 months with a code, after which the regular price applies.
Trade-offs. Early's invoice and bill limits are tight for an active business. Xero reserves the right to change JAX terms "including the pricing". Payroll is an add-on (Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, at $36 a month plus $6 per employee or contractor).
QuickBooks Online with Intuit Intelligence
Who it's for: businesses already on QuickBooks, and those whose accountant works in it.
What the AI does. Intuit describes Intuit Intelligence as "an AI partner that puts you in conversation with your business". Its page gives examples such as asking why costs rose, forecasting next month's revenue and building a custom invoice report. It says the assistant "drafts multiple invoices for quick review" and sends payment reminders "with your approval". The page is labeled BETA.
What each plan lists (as of October 2026). The pricing page shows AI features by tier: Simple Start lists "AI Chat for instant insights", marked "Limited capacity" and BETA. Essentials adds "Accounting AI", "Payments AI" and "Business Tax AI". Plus adds "Sales Tax AI", "Customer AI" and chat to plan scenarios and save them as budgets. Advanced adds "Project Management AI" and "Finance AI". The Intuit Intelligence page says its "cleaner books" feature is "Available only with QuickBooks Advanced".
Plans and price. Regular prices are Simple Start $38 a month (1 user), Essentials $85 (3 users), Plus $140 (5 users) and Advanced $340 (25 users). The page showed 50% off for 3 months on paid plans. QuickBooks also lists a Free plan at $0 for 1 user with up to two invoices a month and 1 bank connection; it lists no AI features.
Trade-offs. This is the most expensive of the three mainstream ledgers at each step. Several AI features carry BETA labels, and Simple Start's chat is marked "Limited capacity".
Zoho Books with Zia
Who it's for: very small businesses on a tight budget, and businesses already using other Zoho apps.
What the AI does. Zoho's AI page lists "Ask Zia" for plain-English questions with links to act on the answer, anomaly detection that flags unusual spikes or drops in report data, AI forecasts of revenue and cash flow, an invoicing agent that gives "AI summaries based on your invoices, risk flags, and ready-to-send bulk reminders", and bank statement categorization where "Zia pre-fills details against the statement". It also lists a CoCreate agent that builds invoices, quotes and reports from a prompt, and a way to connect your books to AI agents through MCP.
Plans and price (as of October 2026). Zoho Books has a Free plan for 1 user plus 1 accountant, available "as long as your revenue for the financial year does not exceed the threshold of $50K". Paid plans are Standard $20 a month ($15 billed annually), Professional $50 ($40), Premium $70 ($60), Elite $150 ($120) and Ultimate $275 ($240). Prices are per organization.
Trade-offs. The AI page does not say which plans include which AI features, and the pricing page we read does not mention Zia. Check in the free trial before you rely on a specific AI feature.
Digits
Who it's for: owners and accountants who want a newer ledger built around AI rather than AI added to an older product.
What the AI does. Digits calls itself "the first AI-native general ledger for business owners and accountants". Its pricing page lists "24/7 AI Bookkeeping & Reconciliation" on every plan, with the tagline "Books that keep themselves", plus quality checks so every transaction is "coded and documented". Its menus list "Agentic Close" for an AI-native month-end close and "Ask Digits", described as "Your AI financial assistant".
Plans and price (as of October 2026). Essentials is $65 a month for "Solopreneurs and early-stage businesses". Core is $100 a month and adds department and location tracking and automated schedules. Pro at $250 a month is marked "Coming soon". The FAQ says there is a 30-day free trial.
Trade-offs. Switching ledgers is a bigger job than switching on a feature, and your accountant may not use Digits yet. The page does not say whether prices are for monthly or annual billing.
Booke AI
Who it's for: businesses and bookkeepers who want to keep QuickBooks Online or Xero but hand off the daily bank feed work.
What the AI does. Booke says its AI Bookkeeper "works inside QuickBooks Online and Xero" using your existing bank connection. It "categorizes transactions, matches invoices and bills, requests missing documents, and handles bank feed work". You set rules such as "All transactions over $50 need receipts", and it brings "only the items that need attention" to your team.
Price (as of October 2026). $129 per business a month for the Business plan. Accounting firm pricing is by request.
Trade-offs. It is a cost on top of your accounting subscription, and it overlaps with AI your ledger may already include. Booke's pricing page shows Annual and Monthly options, and we could not tell which one the $129 belongs to.
Pilot
Who it's for: owners who would rather not do the books at all.
What the AI does. Pilot's Essentials plan says "AI categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly", with "Instant AI answers about past transactions and current cash flow". Support is through in-app messaging. The Core plan adds a "US-based bookkeeper who handles, explains, and reviews your books".
Price (as of October 2026). Essentials is $99 a month for businesses with up to $100,000 in monthly expenses, and includes a year-end package for your tax preparer. The Core price did not display clearly on the page we read. Pilot's tax filing is sold separately, starting at $1,000 a year for single member LLCs, and must be bought with Pilot Bookkeeping.
Trade-offs. Essentials does not list a human bookkeeper. For one, you need Core or a custom plan, and every bookkeeping plan button on the page says "Contact Sales".
Zeni
Who it's for: funded startups and growing companies that want bookkeeping and a finance team in one subscription.
What the AI does. Zeni describes itself as "AI-Powered bookkeeping, with a team of financial experts". Every plan includes AI bookkeeping, AI bill payments, AI reimbursements and a dedicated finance team. It also lists Zeni MCP to "Connect your books to Claude, Codex, and more".
Price (as of October 2026). Starter from $549 a month ($494 billed annually), for pre-revenue companies. Growth from $799 ($719 billed annually), for companies with revenue. Zeni says pricing is "based on bookkeeping complexity, monthly expenses, and annual revenue".
Trade-offs. It is the most expensive option here and is aimed at startups rather than a typical local business.
Checked but left out of the table
FreshBooks, Wave and Sage 50 are common small business choices, but the pricing and product pages we read did not name an AI feature, so we could not say what AI you would get. Wave's Pro plan ($19 a month) does list "Auto-merge and categorize bank transactions", without calling it AI. Sage's US pages describe Sage Intacct as "with Ai" but give no detail on what it does.
What it costs over a year
Our own sums from the regular prices above, as of October 2026, before tax and before any new-customer discount.
| Setup | Cost for 12 months | How we got there |
|---|---|---|
| Zoho Books Standard | $180 billed annually, or $240 paying monthly | 12 x $15, or 12 x $20 |
| Xero Early | $324 | 12 x $27 |
| QuickBooks Simple Start | $456 | 12 x $38 |
| Xero Growing | $708 | 12 x $59 |
| QuickBooks Essentials | $1,020 | 12 x $85 |
| Pilot Essentials | $1,188 | 12 x $99 |
| Zeni Starter | $5,928 billed annually, or $6,588 paying monthly | 12 x $494, or 12 x $549 |
Digits and Booke AI are left out of this table because their pricing pages do not make clear whether the listed prices are for monthly or annual billing.
How to choose
- Start with the software you already pay for. If you are on QuickBooks Online or Xero, open the AI assistant and try it on last month's numbers before buying anything else.
- Decide who does the work. Software with AI still needs you, or your bookkeeper, to check categorizations and close the month. Pilot and Zeni sell the work itself, at a higher price.
- Match the plan to your volume. Xero Early caps you at 20 invoices and 5 bills. QuickBooks Free allows two invoices a month. Zoho's free plan ends above $50K in yearly revenue.
- Check which AI features your tier actually gets. QuickBooks spreads its AI features across four plans, and Zoho does not say which plans include Zia.
- Ask your accountant. They may already work in one ledger, and moving your books is easier before a year end than in the middle of one.
- Use the trial on real but low-stakes data. Let the AI categorize a month you have already closed, then compare its answers with your own books.
For the rest of your AI setup, see our list of the best AI tools for small business. If you are not ready to pay yet, our guide to free AI tools for small business covers tools with an indefinite free tier, and our guide to ChatGPT for small business explains which ChatGPT plan to use for general writing and analysis.
Will AI take over accounting?
The US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) does not project that. Its Occupational Outlook Handbook, last modified August 27, 2026, gives these figures for 2025 to 2035:
- Accountants and auditors: 1,595,200 jobs in 2025, projected to grow 5 percent (79,400 jobs), which the BLS calls faster than average. It projects about 115,300 openings a year. The BLS says routine tasks may be automated by technologies including AI, and that while these will likely make accountants more efficient, the change is not expected to reduce overall demand. It says automating routine tasks such as data entry will make accountants' advisory and analytical duties more prominent.
- Bookkeeping, accounting and auditing clerks: 1,532,400 jobs in 2025, projected to decline 6 percent (85,600 jobs). The BLS attributes the decline mainly to software automating routine tasks, so that "the same amount of work can be done with fewer employees". It still projects about 144,100 openings a year, all from replacing workers who leave the occupation or retire.
In short, the official projection is fewer data-entry bookkeeping jobs and more accountants, not an end to accounting. These are projections, and the BLS publishes no figure for what happens after 2035.
Your data and the AI
Xero says the third-party providers it uses for large language models (it names AWS, Microsoft Azure, GCP and OpenAI) process the data you enter, "but this data isn't used to train the LLMs". Booke lists an "Isolated AI Brain per client" and "No cross-client data sharing" on its pricing page. Intuit says Intuit Intelligence is "trained on the patterns of 7 million businesses" but the page we read does not say how your own data is used. The Zoho Books, Digits, Pilot and Zeni pages we read did not state a training policy, so check their privacy terms before connecting your bank accounts.
What we could not verify
- QuickBooks promotion terms. The pricing page shows "50% off for 3 months" with an asterisk, but the footnote did not load for us, so we cannot tell you who qualifies.
- QuickBooks plan details. A footnote reading "Available in Plus and Advanced" appears on the pricing page, and we could not tell for certain which feature it refers to.
- Zoho Books AI by plan. Zoho does not say which plans include Zia's features.
- Booke and Digits billing. We could not confirm whether Booke's $129 or Digits' prices are monthly or annual rates.
- Pilot Core. The Core price did not display on the page we read.
- Accuracy. We have not run any of these products and found no independent study of their categorization accuracy. Every AI description above is the maker's own.
- Sage. We could not find a US page that says what Sage's AI does for a small business.
FAQ
What is the best AI accounting software for a small business?
For most small businesses it is the accounting software you already use, with its AI switched on. If you are choosing fresh, Xero includes its JAX assistant at no extra charge on plans from $27 a month as of October 2026. QuickBooks Online lists AI features on every paid plan from $38 a month, and Zoho Books has a free plan for businesses with up to $50,000 in yearly revenue.
Is there free AI accounting software?
Zoho Books has a free plan for one user plus an accountant, as long as yearly revenue stays at or under $50,000, but Zoho does not say which AI features it includes. QuickBooks has a free plan with no AI features listed. Digits offers a 30-day free trial, and Xero and QuickBooks were offering discounted first months to new customers in October 2026.
Will AI take over accounting?
Official projections say no. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics projects jobs for accountants and auditors to grow 5 percent from 2025 to 2035, and says automation of routine tasks is not expected to reduce overall demand. It projects a 6 percent decline for bookkeeping, accounting and auditing clerks, mainly because software lets the same work be done by fewer people.
Can AI do my bookkeeping without a bookkeeper?
Partly. Booke says its AI handles daily bank feed work and brings only the exceptions to your team. Pilot's Essentials plan says AI categorizes, reconciles and closes the books monthly, with support by in-app message; a US-based bookkeeper comes with its Core plan. Tax filing is not part of these bookkeeping plans: Pilot and Zeni sell it as separate plans.
Does QuickBooks have AI?
Yes. QuickBooks Online includes Intuit Intelligence, an AI assistant that answers questions about your business, drafts invoices for you to check and sends payment reminders with your approval. Its pricing page lists different AI features on each paid plan, and several are marked BETA.
Is my financial data used to train the AI?
It depends on the vendor. Xero says data sent to its AI providers is not used to train their models. Most of the other pages we read did not say, so read each vendor's privacy terms before connecting your bank accounts.
How this page was put together
We read each vendor's own pricing and product pages on October 12, 2026, plus the two Bureau of Labor Statistics pages listed below. QuickBooks and Sage pages were read through a web reader because they did not load directly. We did not run these products. Descriptions of what the AI does are the makers' own, and the choice of Xero as a starting point rests on its published price and its stated no-extra-charge policy for JAX, not on use. Prices change often, so check each pricing page before you buy. Nothing here is tax or accounting advice.
Sources
- Xero US pricing: https://www.xero.com/us/pricing-plans/
- Xero JAX: https://www.xero.com/us/ai-in-accounting/jax/
- QuickBooks Online pricing: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/
- QuickBooks Intuit Intelligence: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/intuit-intelligence/
- Zoho Books US pricing: https://www.zoho.com/us/books/pricing/
- Zoho Books AI in accounting: https://www.zoho.com/us/books/accounting-software/ai-in-accounting/
- Digits pricing: https://digits.com/pricing/
- Digits: https://digits.com/
- Booke AI pricing: https://booke.ai/pricing
- Booke AI: https://booke.ai/
- Pilot pricing: https://pilot.com/pricing
- Zeni pricing: https://www.zeni.ai/pricing
- FreshBooks pricing: https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing
- Wave pricing: https://www.waveapps.com/pricing
- Sage 50 pricing: https://www.sage.com/en-us/products/sage-50/pricing/
- Sage US accounting software: https://www.sage.com/en-us/sage-business-cloud/accounting/
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Accountants and Auditors: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/business-and-financial/accountants-and-auditors.htm
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/office-and-administrative-support/bookkeeping-accounting-and-auditing-clerks.htm